Watercolor Words and Wanderings

Last night was filled with thunder storms I finally gave up trying to sleep at 3:15 am. We are now receiving a gentle much needed rain. I love living in New Hampshire, the weather is great! They say if you do not like the weather wait 5 minutes and it is almost true! Shortly after I graduated from college I moved to Hobe Sound Florida. The weather in southern Florida is nice to be sure but after a while the sunny days got stale. The landscape goes from kind of green to light brown and that is about it. Growing up in New Hampshire I am used to constant changes in all things weather related.

This has been another soul searching week…I keep thinking I NEED to get a job and I keep having to talk myself out of it. I worked three days last week teaching at The Fells  .( Go there if you can, it is a beautiful spot on the shores of Lake Sunapee. Wear walking shoes and really explore around there are hidden groves and fairy houses, sculptures and historic buildings) I did not do much painting this week. I have a project for an art show hanging over my head and I am just not good at art on demand if you will. I have a friend who wants to buy a painting to put over his couch and he has been waiting for two years….I just cannot build up the hutzpah to get this done despite several beginnings. Back to the art show project…. it is three life size plywood cuts out that I promised to have ready for an art show which will be hung at the end of August. The show is a collaboration with Turning Points Network and The Library Art Center. I have several ideas but none of them are screaming at me to come out- so today I am just going to start and welcome the process of ” making art on demand”- just remain curious and see where it takes me. I have been stifled with trying to come up with some earth shattering statement about the theme of the show ( Voices and Vision : EmpowerMEnt through art ) and while also honoring the previous ” lives” of these plywood cuts out which were done with the idea of representing victims of murder in our area. Many of whom where murdered at the hands of their husbands.(The original project followed the idea called Silent Witnesses.) I also need to keep these people family friendly and now that I am typing out all these parameters it is no wonder I am having such a hard time getting an idea to gel!

I am going to get started on my day and those  silent witnesses- I will take pictures of the process. Until next week- Peace Out- Bec

PS- On the Media this week- I am reading The Girl On The Train- I am almost done and will with hold comments till the end but so far it has been hard to put the book down.

PPS- Sorry so late I cannot get my one picture of the painting I worked on to upload- GRRR 🙂 Her is a picture of me in my studio- I think I remember how to get there;)

© Maundy Mitchell Photography
© Maundy Mitchell Photography

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.